New Music: The Pains Of Being Pure At Heart


Wow.The first time I listened to this song, I was instantly transported back to fall of 1992.

The Pains of Being Pure At Heart are releasing their second full length disc, Belong, in March. Their debut disc was one of my faves from 2009, a real throw back to early 90’s shoegazer-ish buzz pop ala Velocity Girl (which isn’t surprising, since the two bands share the Slumberland record label).

The new disc is produced by Flood and mixed by Alan Moulder, both the geniuses of such 90’s heydey (and pretty fucking genius on their own) discs by the likes of U2, Nine Inch Nails, PJ Harvey, and My Bloody Valentine. It’s gives this track a brilliant gloss and yet a nice sharpness to it that really puts me in the wayback machine to the first time I heard the Smashing Pumpkin’s Siamese Dream. I have high hopes for this disc now. I don’t expect to be dissapointed, and after you hear this track, neither should you.

So new music you should love. Or else. The Pains Of Being Pure At Heart. Belong.

Leave a Reply

