Album of the Year- M83, Hurry Up We’re Dreaming

And I saved the best for last. It is worth the wait and a winner.


How to describe the French musician Anthony Gonzalez’s 6th outing?

Sprawling. Epic. Dark. Transcending. Genius.

There’s everything here from echoes of Yes to shoegazer to ambient instrumentals to 80’s synth pop. The double album, long to be Gonzalez’s desire to make, emerged this year. At first glance, you think, a double album? The last time I really gave any credence to one being successfully done was the Smashing Pumpkin’s Mellon Collie and the Infinite Sadness. Incidentally, that was the inspiration for Hurry Up, We’re Dreaming.

The best part? It really came out of no where and knocked me down. I always find that a disc that completely exceeds my expectations and blows me away is one that will stick with me always. It truly trumps any other release this year, and thus is my favorite disc of 2011.

Amazing.

Midnight City

Wait

Intro (feat. Zola Jesus)

Raconte-Moi Une Histoire

Steve McQueen

New Map

Leave a Reply

