Ariel Pink’s Haunted Graffiti, Only In My Dreams

I’m a bit late to the party on this, but with the new single it’s a great time to catch up.

Ariel Pink is out of Los Angeles, and he’s been around since the mid 90’s, creating low-fi retro melodies as a reaction not so much to the early 90’s grunge eruption but the subsequent schlock that it begot, lead by the bastardly duo of Chad Kroger and Scott Stapp. Ariel’s music is designed as throwback to a simpler time, and the nostalgia that it evokes combined with the low-fi quality and psychedelic aspects makes his records an acquired taste. I was first introduced to him in 2010, when Round and Round was named Pitchfork’s single of the year. I think I tried to listen to it, and at the time I wasn’t in the right mind set, and I simply shrugged it off as something I wasn’t hip enough to get.

Cut to a month ago, hanging with my friend Frank, and in a listening conducive environment, I was reintroduced. Color me smitten.

Only In My Dreams is the first single from Pink’s new disc Mature Themes that features his backing band, Haunted Graffiti. It’s got a charming pop sensibility to it. The video is pretty whimsy too. So give it a listen. I’ve tacked on Round and Round for a little comparison, but also because this unofficial video from You Tube provides a bit of periodic if not ironic context for Ariel’s mindset. Enjoy.

Only In My Dreams

 

Round and Round

Leave a Reply

