The Best of 2012, Part 1- The Songs

As we slide from November into December, it’s time again for me to share my favorites from the past year.

I’m breaking it down into four parts this year. First up, I’m going to share some of my favorite tracks from this year that made my- and the publics- music listening pleasurable. Part 2, I’ll list my top 12 favorite tracks of the year- my best of the best. Part 3 will be my rundown of the best albums that came out this year. And Part 4 will be the everything else… the critic’s choices, links to end of year charts from other sites, and even that which let me down (my Why? list).

But first up, some of my favorites from this year. As always, it’s all over the place. It’s what held heavy play on my iPod for a good part of the year. And I recommend that you need to check these out. So with out further ado, here are some of the most memorable tracks from 2012.

Scissor Sisters, Let’s Have A Kiki

Grimes, Oblivion

Stars, The Theory of Relativity

Bob Mould, The Decent

The Shins, Simple Song

The Ting Tings, Give It Back

Tennis, Origins

M.I.A., Bad Girls

The Raveonettes, She Owns The Streets

Garbage, Blood For Poppies

Saint Etienne, Tonight

Ariel Pink’s Haunted Graffiti, Only In My Dreams

Chromatics, Kill For Love

Silversun Pickups, Bloody Mary (Nerve Endings)

fun. (feat Janelle Monae), We Are Young

Passion Pit, Take A Walk

Beach House, Wild

Spiritualized, Hey Jane

Kylie Minogue, Timebomb

Nicki Minaj, Starships

Donald Fagen, I’m Not The Same Without You

Frank Ocean, Pyramids

Oribital (feat. Zola Jesus), New France

Hospitality, Friends of Friends

Lana Del Rey, Born To Die

2 thoughts on “The Best of 2012, Part 1- The Songs

Leave a Reply

