The Best of 2012, Part 2- The Top 12

Here they are.

These are the 12 best songs I heard this year. And I’ve listened to tons of music. And some real shit, as well. But these 12 hit a note with me. They resonated. They transcend. Okay, they are really fucking good and everyone should be enjoying them.

12. Blur, Under The Westway

‘On a permanent basis, I apologise, but I am going to sing… hallelujah.’ Written for the Olympic closing ceremonies, a nice parting gift from the foursome. 

11. Scissor Sister, Only The Horses

‘And so we search the sky, for any flashing signs…’ . A great summer single.

10. Wild Nothings, Paradise

‘tell me once or twice, that love is paradise.’ A late year surprise. Beautiful and lush.

9. Sleigh Bells, Comeback Kid

‘You’ll go away, but, you’ll come back someday.’ True shred guitar from Brooklynites that rock it.

8. Bloc Party, V.A.L.I.S.

‘He’s not the real me… but I can hear him from my future.’ A genius throwback track from an otherwise half ass disc.

7.P!nk, Blow Me (One Last Kiss)

‘I think that life’s too short for this, want back my ignorance and bliss, I think I’ve had enough of this…’ True Pop Perfection. 

6. The Sea and Cake, Harps

‘ the sky was never blue…’ A brilliant piece of atmospheric bliss from the Chicago quartet.

5. Santigold, Disparate Youth

‘And they all said I was misled, but now the odds all stand beneath me.’  Killer.

4. Frank Ocean, Sweet Life

‘Keeping it surreal, my TV ain’t HD that’s too real, grapevines, mango peaches and limes.’  The sexiest and most real song this year. 

3. Grimes, Genesis

‘My heart will never feel, will never see, will never know.’ Synthetic 80’s meets isolated millennium. Perfect marriage. Not to mention, that cinematographically this is one of the best videos of the year.

2. Beach House, Myth

‘You can’t keep hanging on to what is dead and gone.’  More than a momentary bliss. The heart aches. Brilliant.

1. Tame Impala, Apocalypse Dream

‘Well, am I getting closer? Will I ever get there? Does it even matter?’ Distopian, psychedelic, absolute genius. Simply put, the most complex, original and best single of the year. 

 

Leave a Reply

