My Bloody Valentine, she found now/ if i am

Twenty-two years in the making. And well worth the wait.

At 8pm CST this evening, My Bloody Valentine released their third full length album, the long awaited follow up to the epic Loveless.

mbv arrives nearly 22 years after Loveless first blew my and the general public’s mind. It’s been a long wait for a follow up. Some thought it would never come. But it did.

First impression? I agree with my friend Mac, it’s definitely not as warm as Loveless, speaking in terms of the digital mix. It lacks the warmth of analog.

That being said, it’s wild. It takes the elements of Loveless and Isn’t Anything, like the swirl of guitars and atmosphere, and makes it feels modern while still retaining the signature sound of My Bloody Valentine. A nice gloss. It keeps true to their gauzy sound, the essence of what makes it a MBV album, but updated.

I’m four tracks in, and I’m thoroughly pleased.

The lead off track will give you an idea of what the album holds. This is she found now. And frankly, this is music you should love.

update: Now on fourth full listen through. It’s pretty stunning. As a bonus, here is if i am. This is turning into one of my favorites on the album.

One thought on “My Bloody Valentine, she found now/ if i am

  1. Unfortunately, I was in error. According to the official website:

    “This album has been recorded as an analogue album. It was recorded on 2 inch 24 track analogue tape and mixed onto half inch analogue tape and mastered with no digital processing involved.”

    Still not as warm as Loveless to my ears, but apparently not due to modern digital recording techniques.

Leave a Reply

