Feeling retro: The Pixies, Surfer Rosa

Twenty five years ago this week, the Pixies released their incredible album Surfer Rosa. If you have never listened to it before, you must.

https://i2.wp.com/upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/en/thumb/3/34/SurferRosa.jpg/220px-SurferRosa.jpg

It’s an album that influenced Kurt Cobain, Billy Corgan and Polly Jean Harvey. Themes of mutilation, voyeurism and incest run as themes through out. It was recorded in 2 weeks in 1987 by Steve Albini and it features some fantastic tracks, including one I feel is among the defining of my generation, Where is My Mind?. And it gave us an introduction to Mrs. John Murphy, aka Kim Deal, whose’ track Gigantic is among the most beloved in the groups’ catalogue.

So in honor of 25 years of Surfer Rosa, I’m going a bit retro today. Nostalgic. Enjoy. It’s one of my favorite albums of all time. It’s music you should love… or ‘you’ll fuckin’ die, I said.’

Bone Machine

Where Is My Mind

River Euphrates

I’m Amazed- ‘all I know is, there were rumors he was into field hockey players…’

Cactus

Something Against You

Gigantic

One thought on “Feeling retro: The Pixies, Surfer Rosa

Leave a Reply

