What I’m Listening to: Summer ’13 edition

Summer has finally arrived on the calendar, and so has more new music. But I all know you are asking, ‘but what are you listening to?’ Who me? Thought you’d never ask!

These tracks are what’s in my heavy rotation right now, what I’m enjoying on these hot summer nights. All should be essential listening.

CHVRCHES, The Mother We Share and Recover – Some Scottish electropop, their debut album due in September. Grimes and T’Pau would be proud.

Primal Scream, It’s Alright, It’s Okay- Or should we call it Movin’ On Up for 2013. That’s not a diss. We can also use a little Bobby Gillespie from time to time, and it’s fresh while sounding classic Scream circa 1991.

Phoenix, Bourgeois– Just another amazing track from Bankrupt!. Probably my favorite.

Washed Out, It All Feels Right- Kicking it, lazy, on the beach. A nice cool glass of lemonade from the chillwave auditory bliss melodies of Ernest Green.

Shout Out Louds, 14th of July– Great summer jam from the Swedes.

Queens of the Stone Age, I Sat By The Ocean– Love the funky bass line on this track. The track has a sort of sludgy sleezy sexy groove.

Vampire Weekend, Diane Young– Still loving this one.

OMD, Night Cafe and Dresden– You gotta give it to these guys, occasionally they surprise me with something that sounds right out of a John Hughes film. I almost want to treat them like they are a guilty pleasure.

I’m not embarrased, I like OMD.

Besides, who still makes videos like these? These guys do!

One thought on “What I’m Listening to: Summer ’13 edition

Leave a Reply

