Sam Smith, Stay With Me

The falsetto and soul is what got me.

Brit singer/songwriter Sam Smith is releasing his debut album, In the Lonely Hour, in June. I happened to catch him on a SNL repeat with Louis C.K.. I didn’t quite expect to get caught by this song. But as I mentioned, I have.

Stay With Me is gospel/northern soul/ pop ballad. The great, honest and believable ache you can hear in Smith’s voice is what sells this to me.  And there’s some romantic sexiness to it. It doesn’t hurt that he’s got some quirky-sexy Brit boy looks going for him.

Yep, love it.

From the March 29, 2014 SNL:

Leave a Reply

