#TBT: The Smiths, Please Please Please Let Me Get What I Want

I’ve been on a bit of a Smiths kick for the past few months.

SmithsPromoPhoto TQID 1985.jpg

I went to see ‘Dear John Hughes’ here in Chicago, starring Rumer Willis, and it was total 80’s geeky flashback. The show was a mash up of pivotal scenes from Sixteen Candles, Pretty In Pink, Some Kind Of Wonderful, The Breakfast Club, Ferris Buehler’s Day Off and Weird Science, and was interlaced by the cast performing tunes from these classic 80’s soundtracks live.

One of my favorite parts was the girl who played Samantha/The Princess/Andie singing the fuck out of The Smiths Please Please Please Let Me Get What I Want– and nailed it. It was kind of meta. And that just made me dig up a whole lot of Smiths tracks that I hadn’t listened to in a while.

Here’s the original version that got me on this kick.

Leave a Reply

