#TBT- Smashing Pumpkins, Thirty-Three

Chicago’s own Smashing Pumpkins’ Mellon Collie and the Infinite Sadness turns 20 this year. Boy, they just don’t make them like that any more.

The Pumpkins third full length and double album was a monster; damn good from start to finish; The last album the group made with it’s original line up; A rock and roll alternative masterpiece; And a huge red warning flag of Billy Corgan’s looming narcissism.

Thirty-Three stands out from this album because it’s just is so forlorn, just like I was the fall of 1995. Swervedriver may have had the soundtrack of my first fall in Chicago, but this was my theme song at the time. It embodied the ache and longing I had, trying to figure out where I was going, what i wanted to do with my life and who I wanted to be with. And it was by a Chicago band, natch.

Leave a Reply

